National Competition

This year, a total of 345 films applied for the National Competition, of which 37 made it to the competition. Seven of the films are documentaries over 30 minutes and 30 short films under 30 minutes.

This time, the National Competition includes, among other things, the new productions of several film directors who have been awarded at the festival in previous years. In the competition we will see, for example, Täällä haisee hiiri (2023) by Iiti Yli-Harja, who won the Risto Jarva Prize last year, Risto-Pekka Blom‘s Lasse kaatuu, voi ei! (2023), Elina Talvensaari‘s How to Please (2023) and a feature documentary Máhccan – Kotiinpaluu (2023) by Suvi West and Anssi Kömi.

All the selected films listed, awards and juries can be found on our website in the competitions section.

The winners of the 2024 competitions will be awarded at the Awards Ceremony on Saturday 9 March at Tuulensuu Palace.