The Grand Prix of the International Competition at the Tampere Film Festival goes to experimental documentary Bab Sebta (Ceuta’s Gate) by Randa Maroufi (France, Morocco 2019). According to the International Jury the film shows the absurdity of invisible borders, lines, and maps created by human society, and the roles these boundaries force us to play. 

The Best Animation Category Prize was handed to  Något att minnas (Something to Remember) by Niki Lindroth von Bahr (Sweden 2019) and the Best Documentary Category Prize to Nachts Sind Alle Katzen Grau (All Cats Are Grey In The Dark) by Lasse Linder (Switzerland 2019).

Omé by Wassim Geagea (Lebanon, Qatar 2019) received the  Best Fiction Category Prize and Special Mention was given to All Inclusive by Teemu Nikki (Finland 2019) at the Fiction Category. Mémorable (Memorable) by Bruno Collet (France 2019) was nominated as Tampere Short Film Candidate for the European Film Awards 2020 (European Film Academy) and Ijrain Maradona (Maradona’s Legs) by Firas Khoury (Palestine, Germany 2019) received the Audience Award of the International Competition.

Documentary film The Fantastic by Maija Blåfield (Finland 2020) was awarded  the Main Prize at the category of films under 30 minutes in the National Competition of the Festival, and the Youth Jury also chose it as their favourite. The National Jury described the film as a fascinating matrix of ideas and images. 

The Main Prize in the Over 30 Minutes films went to Anna-Karin Grönroos’ documentary film Orkesterin edessä (Conductivity) (Finland 2019), a film which is “in tune with the emotions and senses of its protagonists”.

The Special Prize in the National Competition of under 30 minutes films went to Teemu Niukkanen’s fiction Onko sulla nälkä? (Are You Hungry?) (Finland 2019) which hits the funny-bone as well as the heart by observing family and social relationships with intelligence, visual ingenuity and a streak of absurdity. 

Elina Talvensaari’s documentary film Neiti aika (Lady Time) (Finland 2019) was awarded the Church Media Foundation Prize and the Special Prize at the category of films over 30 minutes .  The film was described as deeply touching, humane and consoling reminder that life itself is meaningful even if the memories later on will be lost in the timestream.

To Teach a Bird to Fly by Minna Rainio and Mark Roberts (Finland 2020) won the Risto Jarva Prize and  became the Tampere Nominee for European Audience Award. The film combines documentary material with fiction and is set in a dystopian world in the near future. Risto Jarva Jury thought that although the topic is terrifying, the film is bright and beautiful.

Golden Shade Equipment Rental Prize (the Light House and the Camera House) went to cinematographer Theofanis Kavvadas from the fictive film 49 Years from the House on the Left (Finland, Turkey 2019).  Student Award was given to Kotimatka (Homebound) by Marika Harjusaari (Finland, South Africa 2019).

Special Mentions of the National Competition were given to fiction film Keppi (The Stick) by Teppo Airaksinen (Finland 2019) and experimental documentary Waste No. 4 New York, New York by Jan Ijäs (Finland 2019). Feature-length documentary Silmästä silmään (Eye to Eye) by John Webster (Finland 2020) won the Audience Award of the National Competition. The Youth Jury wanted to hand out Special Mentions to animation Hänen päänsä (Her Head) by Emma Louhivuori (Finland 2019) and experimental fiction Fill the Screen by Pasi Sleeping Myllymäki (Finland 2019).